Board Members

The Victorian Racing Integrity Board Members are:

The Hon. Jack Forrest QC - Chairperson

The Hon. Jack Forrest QC was a Judge of the Supreme Court and the principal judge of the common-law division from 2015 until he retired in March 2018. Mr Forrest has a life-long interest in thoroughbreds and racing as a former licenced owner-trainer, breeder and rider. He was Chairperson of the Racing Victoria Integrity Council and is a Director of Racing Analytical Services Limited.

Ms Elizabeth Clarke AM - Deputy Chairperson

Ms Elizabeth Clarke AM has had a long involvement with racing in Victoria. She served on the Board of Harness Racing Victoria from 2012 to 2019 and as Deputy Chair from 2016 to 2019. She was also a member of the Harness Racing Victoria Integrity Council and Show Cause Committee Member between 2012 and 2019.

Ms Clarke was Club Manager at the Terang Harness Racing Club and the Terang and District Racing Club. She was Advisor in the Department of Justice on the Racing Appeals Tribunal from 2000 to 2011 and a member of Harness Racing Victoria Racing Appeals and Disciplinary Board. She has been Chair of the Harness Racing Victoria Industry Advisory Council from 2016 until 2019.

Mr Bryan Gurry - Deputy Chair

Bryan Gurry has had a successful career in law that includes establishing his own legal practice and being appointed as Partner of several national law firms. Mr Gurry was a Member of the Board of Directors of Racing Victoria from 2008 until 2017 and represented the Racing Victoria Board on the Racing Victoria Integrity Council.

Mr John Barrett - Deputy Chair

John Barrett is an independent management consultant. He is an experienced senior executive whose career spans both government and non-government sectors, and he has extensive experience in governance, business performance and innovation.

He is a former General Manager and Director of the Bookmakers Licensing Board (SA), Chief Executive of the Racing Industry Development Authority (SA), and an Independent Member of the Greyhound Racing Victoria Integrity Council.

Dr CJ (Kate) Savage - Member

Kate Savage is an equine veterinarian and internal medicine specialist. She has worked in Australia, the USA and at the Beijing Olympics. Dr Savage is the past President of the World Equine Veterinary Association and was a member of the Harness Racing Victoria Racing Appeals and Disciplinary Board.

Ms Amelia Lynch - Member

Amelia Lynch is a Partner at Lander & Rogers and head of the Sports Business Group. She has developed a specialist practice in sports law, advising a broad range of clients in the sport, leisure and major events industry including national and state sporting organisations, professional sports clubs, racing clubs, major event organisers, venue/facility managers and government sport/recreation departments.

Ms Lynch is a Director of the Victorian Institute of Sport and former Director of the Australia and New Zealand Sports Law Association.

Ms Megan Hughes - Member

Megan Hughes is a lawyer, writer and policy adviser with experience working in the public, private and not-for-profit sectors. She has strong expertise in racing and administrative law, governance and integrity and has advised a range of racing bodies in Australia and Europe, most recently on animal welfare and social licence issues.

Megan has worked on a number of significant justice and regulatory reforms, including the governance overhaul of the Victorian thoroughbred racing industry. She is currently a Senior Adviser, Research and Advocacy at the Centre for Innovative Justice at RMIT University.

Mr Tim Lyons - Member

Tim has had 20 years experience in the trade union movement as an organiser, advocate, policy specialist and senior leader. He has been a member of Federal Government boards and expert working groups on workplace relations, taxation, superannuation, procurement and industry policy.

Tim has had Australian and international leadership experience in relation to superannuation and retirement incomes policy, ESG and capital stewardship. He has had a long-term work focus on governance, compliance and accountability issues as a director, manager and leader.

Mr Emmett Dunne APM – Member

Emmett Dunne retired from Victoria Police in 2015 at the rank of Assistant Commissioner after a forty-year career in which he served in a variety of roles including as the head of the Prosecutions Division and the Professional Standards Command.

He has recently concluded six years’ service as a Director and Deputy Chair of Greyhound Racing Victoria, and he continues a life-long involvement in Australian Rules Football (AFL) which incorporated 21 years as a member of the AFL Tribunal.

Contact details

Executive Officer: Aaron Campbell
Telephone: 0499 946 756

Page last updated: 20 January 2023