Winners celebrated at the 2023-24 Premier’s Awards for Health and Medical Research

Published: 23 April 2024

Group photos of award winners for the 2023-24 Premier's awards for health and medical researchUp and coming leaders in health and medical research were recognised at the 2023-24 Premier’s Awards for Health and Medical Research on Tuesday 23 April 2024.

Finalists and award recipients were recognised for their outstanding research efforts across 5 award categories including Aboriginal Researcher Led, Basic Science, Clinical, Health Services and Public Health Research.

Dr Rongbin Xu from Monash University took out the top award of the night, winning the prestigious Premier’s Excellence Award for his research on the health and epigenetic impacts of climate change.

His research identified health problems, vulnerable populations and novel genes impacted by heat, bushfire smoke and greenspace, to inform targeted medical and public health interventions. Dr Xu also won the Public Health Researcher Award.

Other award winners were:

  • Ms Joanne Luke – Aboriginal Researcher undertaking research in any field of health and medical research Award
  • Dr Sarah Garnish – Basic Science Researcher Award
  • Dr Laura Ross – Clinical Researcher Award
  • Dr Rob Mitchell – Health Services Researcher Award

The annual awards are open to early-career health and medical researchers who have completed, or are in the process of completing, a PhD. Winners each receive $5,000, while the distinguished Premier’s Excellence Award winner takes home $20,000 in total.

The awards were established by the Victorian Government in 1995 in partnership with the Australian Society for Medical Research.

To read more about the awards, visit Premier’s Awards for Health and Medical Research.