Celebrating our world-leading scientists and innovators

Published: 22 December 2022

People sitting down together with awards they have won

Winners were revealed at the 2022 Victoria Prize for Science and Innovation and Victoria Fellowships ceremony on 13 December 2022, which celebrated 25 years of outstanding scientific achievements.

The awards honour scientists, researchers and innovators whose significant discoveries and contributions to science are changing lives.

Associate Professor Joshua Ooi and Professor Eric Morand from Monash University were the joint recipients of the $50,000 Victoria Prize for Science and Innovation in Life Sciences People holding their awardfor research that could lead to the development of new therapies to treat autoimmune diseases affecting millions of people worldwide such as rheumatoid arthritis.

Professor Brian Abbey from La Trobe University and Associate Professor Belinda Parker from the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre won the $50,000 Victoria Prize for Science and Innovation in Physical Sciences. Their ground-breaking research examines the use of nanotechnology to turn glass microscope slides into a powerful new testing tool that rapidly detects cancer cells.People holding their award

The innovative technology simplifies the testing process and reduces turnaround times for a cancer diagnosis in the lab from 48 hours to just 20 minutes, potentially saving lives around the world.

Victoria Fellowships valued at up to $18,000 each were awarded to 10 early-career researchers to assist them to take international study missions that will expand their research and collaboration networks and drive future innovation and economic recovery through their new ideas.

Read more about the veski Victoria Prize for Science and Innovation and Victoria Fellowships.